Technical Program Committee Chairs Greeting

Message from the Technical Program Committee Chairs

 On behalf of the Technical Program Committee, we would like to welcome you to MWP/APMP 2014 in Sapporo, Japan. MWP/APMP 2014 will begin with two workshops on “Advanced photonic technology for MWP” and “MWP technologies in the Asia-Pacific Rim” on October 20, and proceed with two and half days of oral and poster sessions, from October 21 to 23.
 Of the 153 papers, including 3 plenary talks and 9 invited talks, submitted to this year’s MWP conference, the Technical Program Committee accepted 41 papers for regular oral presentations and 70 papers for poster presentations. The regular oral presentations have been grouped into 8 technical sessions based on the topics of interest to the MWP community, namely, “RoF for mobile communication systems,” “MWP integrated devices,” “Advanced signal processing technology,” “MWP sensing technology,” “THz technology,” “Beam forming and related technology,” “High-speed photo-detectors and optical modulators,” and “Novel RoF technology.”
 The poster presentations are also grouped into 8 sessions, namely, “Novel device/integration technologies for MWP,” “High-speed and/or broadband photonic devices,” “Optical generation of RF/MW/MMW/THz-waves,” “Innovative applications of MWP & Optical sensing of MW fields,” “Photonic systems for antennas & beam forming,” “Optical technologies for high-frequency wireless systems,” “Optical processing and control of analog & digital signals,” and “Photonic techniques for microwave backhaul.”
 Besides the regular oral and poster sessions, the technical program of MWP/APMP 2014 features plenary presentations by three world leaders in the area, namely, Dr. Dalma Novak on “Advanced Radio over Fiber System Technologies,” Professor Masanori Koshiba on “Design Aspects of Multicore Optical Fibers for High-capacity Long-haul Transmission,” and Professor Ton Koonen on“Optical Techniques for Gbit/s Wireless Indoor Access.”
 The technical program will conclude with oral presentation(s) of post-deadline papers, reviewed and accepted by the Technical Program Committee.
 We hope you enjoy the technical program of MWP/APMP 2014 in Sapporo.

Hiroshi Murata
Woo-Yong Choi
Nathan Gomes
Jiangping Yao